Skip to main content
site header image

Biology Resources: Miscellaneous

Find information on Biology through Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

Teaching and Learning Websites

Guidelines for Biology Research Notebook - See Tim Snow for Details

Using Davis Library’s Biology LibGuide: http://libguides.rio.edu/bio students will submit a Research Notebook documenting research activities regarding some topic dealing with biology. The Notebook should be neatly organized, well labeled, and include information for each question including:

 

 Author, Title, How It Was Found, and a Brief (Two Sentence) Description of the Thing

 

 1.  As listed in Davis Library’s Biology LibGuide under the Page “Reference Materials”, and the Box “Selected OhioLINK On-Line Full Text Reference Books”, include a brief description of one resource from any of the online reference books listed and relevant to the topic.

 

2.  As listed in Davis Library’s Biology LibGuide under the Page “Reference Materials”, and the Box “Selected Biology Reference Websites”, include a brief description of one resource from any of the databases listed and relevant to the topic.

 

3.  As listed in the Biology LibGuide under the Page “Books”, and the Box “RioCat”, include a brief description of one resource describing a physical or online book found through Davis Library’s RioCat.

 

 4.  As listed in the Biology LibGuide under the Page “Books”, and the Box “OhioLINK Library Catalog”, include a brief description of one resource describing a physical or online book found in other Ohio Libraries relevant to the topic by using OhioLINK’s Library Catalog. (Ordering books is not necessary.)

 

5.  As listed in the Biology LibGuide under the Page “Articles in Periodicals and Journals”, and the Box “OhioLINK Databases”, include a brief description, and cite the resource in APA style format for one article relevant to the topic found by using any of these periodical databases.

 

6.  As listed in the Biology LibGuide under the Page “Articles in Periodicals and Journals”, and the Box “Selected Non-OhioLINK Periodical Databases”, include the brief description of one resource describing a resource relevant to the topic from any database.         

 

 7.  As listed in the Biology LibGuide under the Page “Articles in Periodicals and Journals”, and the Box “Selected Biology Related Periodicals in OhioLINK's EJournal Finder”, include a brief description, and cite the resource in APA style format of one article (student’s choice) found while browsing through these online biology journals.

 

 8.  As listed in the Biology LibGuide under the Page “Miscellaneous” and either the Box “Professional Biology Organizations”, or “Teaching and Learning Websites”, include the description of any one source (student’s choice) found while browsing these online organizations and resources. 

 

Example of Answered Question: #1 - This article entitled “Non-Ferrous Scrap Disposal” was found by using the keyword “asbestos” in the online full text OhioLINK reference book entitled Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste, edited by Carl Zimring.  It discusses the process of processing non-ferrous scrap disposal of automobile recycling.  Asbestos found in brake pads contribute to problems of salvaging and landfills.          S4:1017

Local Public Libraries

Citation Help

Note:Computer generated citation tools may not be always correct. Be familiar with your citation manual and look for errors.

State of Ohio Funded Online Resources

Public Library or Public School Affiliation May Be Required.  Contact Davis Library for More Information:

Email: refdesk@rio.edu

Telephone: 740-245-7005

Government Documents Online

As a designated Government Depository: Davis Library receives many publications in paper that are kept on the Main Floor.  Davis Library also maintains a collection of the most popular Government Documents online through RioCat.  This includes law and statistical information: