Skip to main content
site header image

Government Documents: Popular Online Resources

Finding Government Information @ Davis Library, Online, and Elsewhere

Quick Links

Core Documents of our Democracy

Click here and here to see two great resources about historical documents of the United States government.

General Information Sources

If you're just beginning your search, these resources might be a great place to start:

American FactFinder

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder comes from several censuses and surveys.

Data.gov

Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

govinfo.gov

govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. govinfo replaced the FDsys website in December 2018. GPO launched govinfo in February 2016 as a beta website to replace its predecessor, GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys). Learn about the transition.

govinfo is more than just a website

In addition to providing an advanced, metadata-powered search experience, govinfo also includes a content management system and a standards-compliant preservation repository.

These three components comprise GPO’s world-class system for the comprehensive management of electronic information:

  1. Public access - GPO combines modern search technology with extensive metadata creation to ensure the highest quality search experience. Users can easily access documents for free by searching or browsing the mobile-friendly website.
  2. Content management – GPO securely controls digital content throughout its lifecycle to ensure content integrity and authenticity. This includes the application of digital signatures to PDF files so users can verify documents have not been altered and are the official versions.
  3. Digital preservation – GPO’s standards-compliant preservation repository follows archival system standards and ensures content is preserved for future generations despite technical failure, aging of hardware, or technological change.

GPO is seeking to become the first Federal agency to be named as a Trustworthy Digital Repository for Government information through certification under ISO 16363.

FedStats

FedStats provides information for Federal agencies that are listed in Statistical Programs of The United States Government and reporting expenditures of at least $500,000 per year in one or more statistical activities.

IRS.gov

This is the official online source for IRS tax forms, instructions, and publications. 

Science.gov

"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance."

USA.gov

USA.gov is the United States government official web portal. This resource allows users to search government information both by topic and agency. There are also links where you can contact the Federal, State, Local, and Tribal governments, as well as elected officials. The topical list of government information is a great place to start for general searches.

Worldometers.info

Worldometers offers real time statistics on world population, government and economics, social media, and the environment, to name a few. This is a great resource for up-to-date statistical information around the world.

Another great data and statistics resource specifically focusing on the U.S. is the Statistical Abstract of the United States. This is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Of Student Interest

Helpful Databases

Both public and commercial databases are available to help make finding Government Documents and federally-funded research information easier.

Off Campus Access to each of the OhioLINK Research Databases listed below requires a special login. These commercial resources are restricted to Rio Grande students, faculty and staff. The other items listed here are government sponsor, so they're free and open for public use.

Use the "Advanced Search" option in either Academic Search Complete or Business Search Complete to limit your results by "publication type" to "Government Documents."

If you have any questions about these different search tools, please... "Ask Us!"