Skip to main content
site header image

Speech Assignments: Court Cases

Selected Resources and Services in Davis Library for Students in Speech Communication Classes at the University of Rio Grande.

Essential Law Related Print Books in Reference Collection - Davis Library Main Floor

Other Law Reference Books - Davis Library Main Floor

RioCat-Books Owned by Davis Library

Top Floor Circulating Collection - Use RioCat to Find Books and Other Materials

Law Books in Davis Library

Generally, in the RioCat Database, court case names will not work as words or subject headings.

Instead, try related subject headings to browse through law books on the Second Floor like:

Subject Heading                                                             Corresponding Call Number Area

FREEDOM OF THE PRESS/SPEECH -                                        323.44's

UNITED STATES - CONSTITUTIONAL LAW -                                342.73's

UNITED STATES. SUPREME COURT -                                          347's

CRIME AND CRIMINALS -                                                              364's

OhioLINK Library Catalog - Borrow Books from Other College Libraries

 

To access the delivery service click on “Request”. Follow the prompts.

  • Select Institution: U of Rio Grande & RGCC.
  • Your Name: First and Last.
  • Your “Barcode” is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number.
  • Your PIN is the last four-digits of your social security number.

Generally: It may take five to seven working days for books to be ready for you to pick-up at Davis Library's Circulation Desk.

"Ready" Status in "My Record" from Davis Library's Homepage indicates materials are at Davis Library's Circulation Desk and ready to be picked up.An email saying "Ready" will also be sent.

Students may have books for three weeks and possibly renew the book six times through "My Record". Charges will be levied for overdue or lost books.

SearchOhio is the public library counterpart of the more academic OhioLINK Library Catalog.

Court Cases in Articles from Periodicals and Journals

Off Campus:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

4. Under "Search Options": Select "Full Text" and/or "Scholarly" If Applicable.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

A traditional print periodical index located at the end of the Reference Collection this indexes older periodicals from 1900 to the present. If your court case was decided before 1984: Use Readers' Guide, although court case names themselves may not work as subject headings. Instead, use the yearly volume(s) of Readers' Guide when the case was most active and look under general headings related to the case. (Such as: UNITED STATES - SUPREME COURT - DECISIONS).

New York Times Index

This is also a traditional print periodical index by Readers’ Guide and covers the New York Times, which Davis Library has on microfilm from the 1850's. Since this is cross-referenced so well, simply use the name of the court case in the appropriate yearly volume(s).

OhioLINK Databases That May Work for Court Cases

Off Campus:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).