Skip to main content
site header image

Psychology Resources: Miscellaneous

Selected Psychology Resources and Services in Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande.

Government Documents

As a designated Government Depository: Davis Library receives many publications in paper that are kept on the Main Floor.  Davis Library also maintains a collection of the most popular Government Documents online through RioCat.  This includes law and statistical information:

Psychology Library Research Notebook Assignment

Name       ______________________

Professor ______________________

Topic       ______________________

  Date         ______________________

Date Due ______________________

 

PSYCHOLOGY LIBRARY RESEARCH NOTEBOOK ASSIGNMENT

 Using Davis Library’s Psychology Resources LibGuide,  libguides.rio.edu/psychology students will submit a Research Notebook documenting research activity regarding some topic of psychology.  The Notebook should be neatly organized, well labeled, and contain the following information for each question:

 Author, Title, How It Was Found, and a Brief (Two Sentence) Description of the Thing

1.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Reference Materials, and either the Boxes marked Online Full Text Reference Books, or Other Psychology Reference Websites, students will include information describing one source from these online resources.

 2.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Books, and the Box marked RioCat, students will include information describing two books found in Davis Library relevant to the topic by using the RioCat database.

 3.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Books, and the Box marked OhioLINK Library Catalog, include information describing two books found in other Ohio Libraries relevant to the topic by using OhioLINK’s Library Catalog database.  Ordering the books is not necessary: Find descriptions of the books in the full entry.

 4.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Articles in Periodicals and Journals, and the Box marked PsycINFO, include information about two articles relevant to the topic describing articles in periodicals found by using the PsycINFO Database, and provide the citation for each in APA style bibliographic format.

 5.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Articles in Periodicals and Journals, and the Box marked Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, include information about two articles relevant to the topic found by using the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Database, and the citation for each in APA style bibliographic format.

 6.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Articles in Periodicals and Journals, and the Box marked Other Psychology Related OhioLINK Databases, include information about one article relevant to the topic from any four databases.

 7.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Articles in Periodicals and Journals, and the Box marked Selected Psychology Related Periodicals in OhioLINK's EJournal Finder, include a APA style format citation and brief description and of one article (student’s choice: not necessarily related to the topic) found while browsing through these online psychology journals.

 8.         As listed in the Psychology Resources LibGuide, under the Page Miscellaneous, and the Box marked Professional Organizations, find one resource from any of the websites listed (student’s choice).  

                                                                                                                                                             S10 - 0817

Get Help Fast!

Email:

RefDesk@Rio.Edu

 Phone: 

Circulation Desk - 740-245-7005

Reference Desk - 740-245-7344

APA Style Manual

Example of Answered Davis Library Psychology Research Notebook Assignment

#1 – This article was found by using the keyword “animal communications”, in the full text online reference books entitled, Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion, edited by David Leeming.  Jane Goodall was one of the first to study how animals communicate.  She also claimed that animals can experience hope and fear.

Citation Help

Note:Computer generated citation tools may not be always correct. Be familiar with your citation manual and look for errors.

State of Ohio Funded Online Resources

Public Library or Public School Affiliation May Be Required.  Contact Davis Library for More Information:

Email: refdesk@rio.edu

Telephone: 740-245-7005

Local Public Libraries