Skip to main content
site header image

Appalachian Studies: Articles in Periodicals and Journals

Great and fast resources on Appalachia from the University of Rio Grande's Davis Library.

America: History and Life

Off Campus:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

4. Under "Search Options": Select "Full Text" and/or "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" if applicable.

Other OhioLINK Databases Relevant to Appalachian Studies

Traditional Interlibrary Loan - Use to Order Articles Not Found Full Text Online

 Use the form below to order articles from periodicals.  There may be a charge and take two weeks to arrive.

Browse All OhioLINK Databases by Subject & Type

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)

Search by topic from full text of research journals covering many subject areas.

Appalachian Related Periodicals in OhioLINK's EJournal Finder - Generally: On Campus Links; Useful for Browsing

Off Campus:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

Bound Paper Periodicals on Ground Floor, Davis Library

Traditional Print Periodical Indexes

Located on the Main Floor at the end of the Reference Collection.  Three of the more popular:

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: Covers periodicals published between 1802 - 1906.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature: This indexes general periodicals (many of which Davis Library has on microfilm and bound in paper) starting about 1890.

New York Times Index: This indexes the major daily New York newspaper which is on microfilm from 1851.