Skip to main content
Search this Guide
Communication Resources: Reference Materials
Communication Resources in Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College
Articles in Periodicals and Journals
Communication Print Books in Reference Collection - Davis Library Main Floor
Encyclopedia of American Journalism
Call Number: R 070.03 P191
Encyclopedia of Censorship
Call Number: R 098.13 G796
Call Number: R 004.678 S322
International Encyclopedia of Communications
Call Number: R 302.2 I61
Use the index in Volume 4.
Free Expression and Censorship in America
Call Number: R 363.310973 F654
Law of Mass Communication
Call Number: R 347.7326 T258
Persuasive Related Print Books in Reference Collection - Davis Library Main Floor
Opposing Viewpoints Series
Call Number: R 361.1 O62
Call Number: R 361.1 T136
OhioLINK Online Reference Resources
Points of View Reference Center
Resource designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. May be useful in developing critical thinking skills and as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers.
Points of View Reference Center - Off Campus
Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
Biography Reference Bank - Off Campus
Other Non-OhioLINK Reference Communication Websites
The Journalist's Toolbox
Sponsored by the American Press Institute, this site contains thousands of resources for journalists, editors, and other researchers.
Links to radio stations in the U.S. to investigate career opportunities in radio. You can learn more about what stations are available in a city or state.
Newspapers: USA and World
Newspaper Association of America (NAA) - Trends and Numbers
Provides quick access to facts and statistics on the newspaper industry. Also aggregates reports either produced or commissioned by NAA in the areas of Advertising, Audience, and Circulation.
The State of the News Media
The Pew Research Center’s Project for Excellence in Journalism annual report.
Columbia Journalism Review
Tracks the the media business.
Communication Theories Overview--Univ. of Twente (NL)
Overview of various communication theories at the academic level. This University of Twente site is in the Netherlands.
Communication Resources Index from University of Iowa
Comprehensive guide to many resources by category within communications.
Includes a speech bank "and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events."
FCC Wireless Telecommunications Bureau
Official website for this Federal Communications Commission (FCC) division that handles domestic wireless telecommunications.
Guide to Telecommunication Law
This group monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interview, and news releases.
An organization best known for its public opinion polls, the results of which are often referenced by the media.
Nov 11, 2017 2:31 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.