Skip to main content
site header image

Chemistry Resources: Miscellaneous

Find chemistry resources in Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

Professional Chemistry Organizations

Teaching and Learning Aids

Government Documents

As a designated Government Depository: Davis Library receives many publications in paper that are kept on the Main Floor.  Davis Library also maintains a collection of the most popular Government Documents online through RioCat.  This includes law and statistical information:

State of Ohio Funded Online Resources

Public Library or Public School Affiliation May Be Required.  Contact Davis Library for More Information:

Email: refdesk@rio.edu

Telephone: 740-245-7005

Chemistry Research Notebook Assignment - See Tim Snow for Details or Email: refdesk@rio.edu

Guidelines for Chemistry Research Notebook

Using Davis Library’s Chemistry LibGuide: http://libguides.rio.edu/chemistry students will submit a Research Notebook documenting research activities regarding some topic dealing with chemistry The Notebook should be neatly organized, well labeled, and contain the following information for each question:

 Author, Title, How It Was Found, and a Brief (Two Sentence) Description of the Thing

 1.                  As listed in Davis Library’s Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Reference Materials” and the Box “OhioLINK Resources” provide information from any of the databases listed and relevant to the topic.

 2.                  As listed in Davis Library’s Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Reference Materials” and the Box “Quick Info Chemistry Websites” provide information from any of the databases listed and relevant to the topic.

3.                  As listed in Davis Library’s Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Reference Materials” and the Box “Patent Databases” provide information from any of the databases listed and relevant to the topic.

 4.         As listed in the Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Books” and the Box “RioCat”, provide information about two physical or online books found in Davis Library or online relevant to the topic by using the RioCat Database.

 5.         As listed in the Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Books” and the Box “OhioLINK Library Catalog”, provide information about two physical or online books found in other Ohio Libraries relevant to the topic by using OhioLINK’s Library Catalog Database. Ordering books is not necessary: Obtain information about books from the full citation.

 6.         As listed in the Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Articles in Periodicals and Journals” and the Box “OhioLINK Databases”, include information about two articles relevant to the topic in periodicals found by using any one of these periodical databases.

 4.                  As listed in the Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Articles in Periodicals and Journals” and the Box “Other Chemistry Related Databases”, include information about any one article relevant to the topic from any two databases.        

 5.                     As listed in the Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Articles in Periodicals and Journals” and the Box “Chemistry Related Periodicals in OhioLINK's EJournal Finder”, include the description and citation (ACS style format) of one article (student’s choice) found while browsing through these online chemistry journals.

6.         As listed in the Chemistry LibGuide under the Page “Miscellaneous” and either the Boxes “Professional Chemistry Organizations”, orJobs in Chemistry”, include the description of any one source (student’s choice) found while browsing these online organizations.                                                                                                                                                                                                                        S3:0917

ACS

American Chemical Society, Chemistry for Life ®

ChemJobs

Chem Jobs logo

Citation Help

Cover Art

In Reference Collection on Main Floor

ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors

Call Number: R 808.06654 A187

OCP

Organic Chemistry

Local Public Libraries

Example of Answered Davis Library Chemistry Research Notebook Assignment

#1 – This article, written by Michael Newton, was found by using the keywords “designer drugs” in the OhioLINK database Science Online.  Also known as “club” drugs, these are usually made from amphetamines or methamphetamine.  They have been outlawed since 1970.

S1:0817