International Encyclopedia of Communications by Erik Barnouw (Editor)
The Internationa Encyclopedia of Communications, published jointly with the Annenberg School of Communications at the University of Pennsylvania, represents the first attempt to survey--and, in many respects, to define--the communications field. In a clear, comprehensive, and authoritative way, the IEC covers all aspects of communication--individual and institutional, cultural and technological, practical and theoretical--in every part of the world. Broad in scope and interdisciplinary in coverage, the IEC contains more than 550 original articles written by a distinguished international group of contributors.Within the various entries, thousands of subjects are discussed: from simple physical gesture to speech, language, and alphabet; from fire signal to space satellite; from clay tablet to microchip. And, unlike other encyclopedias, the IEC approaches each topic from the unique perspective of the communications field, discussing communications research and scholarship as well as the links between communications and host of other disciplines--including anthropology, art, education, history, journalism, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science and technology, and sociology.A singular source of information encompassing a broad range of disciplines, the IEC is destined to become an indispensable reference for students, scholars, educators, professionals, and general readers, and an essentail resource for every library.
Call Number: R 302.2 I61
ISBN: 0195049942
Publication Date: 1989-04-06
Encyclopedia of American Social History by
This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.
Encyclopedia of Psychology by
This four-volume set features over 2000 alphabetized entries by over 500 contributors. It provides coverage of every major area of psychology including applied, clinical, cognitive, developmental, educational, forensic, industrial, measurement, personality, physiological, social and theoretical. The edition provides descriptions of every major psychological test; cross-references at the end of every entry; full subject and person indexes; and a unified bibliography of 15,000 reference entries.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Use the Index in Volume 16.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by
This four-volume set contains over 400 articles ranging from such issues as singlehood and alternative lifestyles to race and ethnic studies. It covers concepts, theories, research findings and future developments.
International Encyclopedia of Communications by
The Internationa Encyclopedia of Communications, published jointly with the Annenberg School of Communications at the University of Pennsylvania, represents the first attempt to survey--and, in many respects, to define--the communications field. In a clear, comprehensive, and authoritative way, the IEC covers all aspects of communication--individual and institutional, cultural and technological, practical and theoretical--in every part of the world. Broad in scope and interdisciplinary in coverage, the IEC contains more than 550 original articles written by a distinguished international group of contributors.Within the various entries, thousands of subjects are discussed: from simple physical gesture to speech, language, and alphabet; from fire signal to space satellite; from clay tablet to microchip. And, unlike other encyclopedias, the IEC approaches each topic from the unique perspective of the communications field, discussing communications research and scholarship as well as the links between communications and host of other disciplines--including anthropology, art, education, history, journalism, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science and technology, and sociology.A singular source of information encompassing a broad range of disciplines, the IEC is destined to become an indispensable reference for students, scholars, educators, professionals, and general readers, and an essentail resource for every library.