Find Just eBooks - Limit Your Search to Online Books
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center. Use and read online books on any device, anywhere, anytime. "Connect" through the title record. Use the "Search This Book" feature to find specific information quickly. See our Find eBooks LibGuide.
The Science of Animal Growth and Meat Technology
The Science of Animal Growth and Meat Technology, Second Edition, combines fundamental science- based and applied, practical concepts relating to the prenatal and postnatal growth of cattle, sheep and pigs. It provides the necessary components to understand the production and growth of livestock for safe and quality meat products and presents an understanding of the principles of meat science and technology that is needed to understand the meat industry. Information on the slaughter process of animals, muscle structure and meat tenderness, meat quality, meat safety, and microbiology makes this a valuable self-study reference for students and professionals entering the field. Describes principles in muscle metabolism, meat quality and meat safety using case studies Discusses the microbial safety of meat products, primary pathogens of concern, and pathogen detection Offers solutions on how to control bacterial growth to improve the safety and quality of meat Presents a new chapter on packaging for meat and meat products that focuses on flexible film technology, packaging materials and equipment technology Includes new information on inspection systems prior to slaughter, during slaughter, and the inspection of meat processing systems
Hazard Analysis and Risk-Based Preventive Controls by
Hazard Analysis and Risk-Based Preventive Controls: Improving Food Safety in Human Food Manufacturing for Food Businesses is a comprehensive, first of its kind resource for the retail food industry on the Hazard Analysis and Risk-based Preventive Controls (PCHF) regulations of the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA). This book covers all aspects of PCHF, including the legislation's intent, applications to ensure safe food production, and resources to keep up-to-date on new food safety hazards and regulatory guidance. Written for food safety professionals and food business leaders, its emphasis on what the retail food industry needs to know about PCHF make it an indispensable resource for organizations buying food from companies required to demonstrate compliance with PCHF. PCHF implementation is (or soon will be) required for human food companies along the supply chain in the United States, as well as all food companies that import ingredients and products for human consumption into the U.S. Explains what retail food industry professionals need to know about PCHF and how they can leverage PCHF when working with suppliers Provides the most current "how to" information on implementing PCHF to prepare for new FDA regulations in the food industry Identifies the right resources to perform hazard analysis and develop effective preventive controls Demonstrates step-by-step examples for continuous improvement in sustaining PCHF responsibilities and keeping abreast of new food safety information
Sustainable Meat Production and Processing by
Sustainable Meat Production and Processing presents current solutions to promote industrial sustainability and best practices in meat production, from postharvest to consumption. The book acts as a guide for meat and animal scientists, technologists, engineers, professionals and producers. The 12 most trending topics of sustainable meat processing and meat by-products management are included, as are advances in ingredient and processing systems for meat products, techno-functional ingredients for meat products, protein recovery from meat processing by-products, applications of blood proteins, artificial meat production, possible uses of processed slaughter co-products, and environmental considerations. Finally, the book covers the preferred technologies for sustainable meat production, natural antioxidants as additives in meat products, and facilitators and barriers for foods containing meat co-products. Analyzes the role of novel technologies for sustainable meat processing Covers how to maintain sustainability and achieve high levels of meat quality and safety Presents solutions to improve productivity and environmental sustainability Takes a proteomic approach to characterize the biochemistry of meat quality defects
Organic Meat Production and Processing by
Organic Meat Production and Processing describes the challenges of production, processing and food safety of organic meat. The editors and international collection of authors explore the trends in organic meats and how the meat industry is impacted. Commencing with chapters on the economics, market and regulatory aspects of organic meats, coverage then extends to management issues for organically raised and processed meat animals. Processing, sensory and human health aspects are covered in detail, as are the incidences of foodborne pathogens in organic beef, swine, poultry and other organic meat species. The book concludes by describing pre-harvest control measures for assuring the safety of organic meats. Organic Meat Production and Processing serves as a unique resource for fully understanding the current and potential issues associated with organic meats.
Sustainable Transition of Meat and Cured Meat Supply Chain : A Transdisciplinary Approach / Anna Maria Fellegara, Riccardo Torelli, Andrea Caccialanza, editors
This edited volume provides an innovative perspective on the future of food systems. The contributors analyse relevant issues for a sustainable and responsible food consumption and cover fundamental steps for a broader approach to the sustainability of meat-based products. The book presents several issues and solutions to engage food firms in a measurable ecological transition. Topics discussed include not only the pedagogical perspective on sustainable food consumption, the evolution of (meat-based) food production systems and the animal welfare perspective, but also the adaptation of firm's strategies to the sustainable transition, the effects of climate change on agri-food firms' governance structures and the evolution of consumers perceptions on meat-based products and the role of CSR labels. This book targets managers and entrepreneurs who work in the meat industry and are seeking to improve their socio-environmental performance and governance, accountants that works at the production of sustainability reports for food companies, researchers working at the cutting edge of the food and environmental fields, professionals working in the meat industry and researchers interested in the investigation of novelties in European food regulation
Meat and Meat Replacements by
Meat and Meat Replacements: An Interdisciplinary Assessment of Current Status and Future Directions provides an interdisciplinary view on the production and consumption of food, challenges to the traditional meat industry, and potential meat replacements. This reference includes chapters on basic food science and technology of meat products and meat replacements as well as coverage of their nutritional value. Sensory and consumer research is addressed, as are the economics of these products, the environmental consequences, and ethical considerations related to the environment and to the products themselves. Meat and Meat Replacements is a helpful resource for food scientists, food and nutrition researchers, food engineers, product development scientists and managers, economists, and students studying meats and meat replacements.
Lawrie's Meat Science
Lawries' Meat Science, Ninth Edition continues to be a classic reference in the meat world. It has been used by numerous generations of meat professionals since its first edition in 1966. The new edition brings four new chapters and updated information related to the latest advances in meat animals breeding and technologies for meat preservation, processing, and packaging. In addition, new relevant aspects of nutritional value, quality and safety of meat as well as methodologies for authenticity and traceability are provided with a compilation of chapters written by a select group of the most experienced and knowledgeable people in the meat field. This book covers essential information and latest advances and developments, from the initial meat animal's growth and development to the time of slaughter and to the processing technologies, packaging and distribution till consumption of its meat. Relevant aspects of its composition, nutritional value, eating quality, consumer acceptance, safety and sustainability issues are also covered. Includes new information on improved added value of meat by-products for increased sustainability Presents best practices sustainable animal production and meat processing Provides the latest developments in organic meat and meat products and on cell-cultured meat and future market opportunities
Gracey's Meat Hygiene by
GRACEY'S MEAT HYGIENE Gracey's Meat Hygiene, 11th edition, is the definitive reference for veterinarians working in meat hygiene control. This new edition of a classic text reflects the recent significant changes in science, legislation and practical implementation of meat hygiene controls in the United Kingdom, Europe and worldwide since the 10th edition was published in 1999. This book is an excellent practical guide for teaching food hygiene to veterinary students worldwide, laying the foundations of food animal anatomy, the humane slaughter of animals for food and practical production hygiene. New chapters address the increased concern of operators, inspectors and the public to issues of animal welfare and recognise the role of the profession, and interest from the consumer, in environmental protection. Key features include the following Fully updated new edition, in a refreshed design with colour photographs and illustrations throughout Includes new content on meat hygiene inspection covering the components of an integrated food safety management system as well as animal health and welfare controls in the 'farm to fork' system A practical approach to health and safety in meat processing is outlined by identifying the hazards and then describing how these can be best controlled With contributions from veterinary and industry experts, this edition is both a valuable teaching aid and a practical reference for veterinarians and all food business operators and their staff