Adam Hollingshead at the Jenkins Academic Center on the Ground Floor of Davis Library.
The Jenkins Academic Center offers assistance with writing and citing: Much of which may be done online.
Email papers to jenkinscenter@rio.edu
When In Doubt: Cite It!
Academic citation styles are standardized formats for documenting sources used in scholarly writing. They ensure consistency, give credit to original authors, and allow readers to locate the sources. Common citation styles include:
Each style dictates specific rules for formatting in-text citations, footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by
The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Book:
Author, A. A. (Publication Year). Italicized Title. Publisher.
ex. Caraco, J. (2024). Holding It Together. Portfolio/Penguin.
Journal:
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyy
ex. Dorson, J. (2013). Demystifying the Judge: Law and Mythical Violence in Cormac McCarthy’s “Blood Meridian.” Journal of Modern Literature, 36(2), 105–121. https://doi.org/10.2979/jmodelite.36.2.105
Website:
Author, A. A., & Author, B.B. (Year, Month Date). Title of webpage. Name of Website. URL
ex. Zitron, E. (2024, July 28). How Does AI Survive. Where's Your Ed At. https://www.wheresyoured.at/to-serve-altman/
In-text:
(Author Last Name, Publication Year)
ex. A meta-analysis of available literature (Jones, 1998) revealed inconsistency across large-scale studies of student learning (Table 3).
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ? New guidance on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, and abbreviations ? A new chapter on principles of inclusive language ? Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects ? Revised, easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format ? A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ? Guidance on finding publication information in a variety of sources ? Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ? Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ? Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ? Annotated bibliography examples ? Numbered sections keyed to a subject index for quick navigation ? Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Book:
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of Publication.
ex. Caraco, Jess. Holding It Together. Portfolio/Penguin, 2024.
Journal:
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.
ex. Dorson, James. "Demystifying the Judge: Law and Mythical Violence in Cormac McCarthy’s 'Blood Meridian.'" Journal of Modern Literature, vol. 36, no. 2, 2013, pp. 105-121. https://doi.org/10.2979/jmodelite.36.2.105.
Website:
Author. "Title of Webpage." Title of Entire Site. Distributor of Website, Date Published, URL (without http://).
ex. Zitron, Ed. "How Does AI Survive." Where's Your Ed At, 28 July 2024, https://www.wheresyoured.at/to-serve-altman/.
In-text:
(Author Page Number)
ex. A meta-analysis of available literature (Jones 1998) revealed inconsistency across large-scale studies of student learning (Table 3).
Book:
Author's Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publisher: Publisher, Year.
Ex. Caraco, Jess. Holding It Together. New York: Portfolio/Penguin, 2024.
Journal Article:
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (Year): page numbers. URL or DOI if available.
Ex. Dorson, James. "Demystifying the Judge: Law and Mythical Violence in Cormac McCarthy’s 'Blood Meridian.'" Journal of Modern Literature 36, no. 2 (2013): 105-121. https://doi.org/10.2979/jmodelite.36.2.105.
Website:
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Webpage." Website Name. Date of Publication or Last Update. URL.
Ex. Zitron, Ed. "How Does AI Survive." Where's Your Ed At. 28 July 2024. https://www.wheresyoured.at/to-serve-altman/.
Book:
[1] Author(s), Title of Book, xth ed. City of Publisher, (only U.S. State), Country: Publisher, Year.
Ex. [1] J. K. Author, Introduction to Electronics, 2nd ed. New York, NY, USA: ABC Publishing, 2020.
Journal:
[1] Author(s), "Title of Paper," Abbrev. Journal Name, vol. x, no. x, pp. xxx-xxx, Month, Year.
Ex. [1] A. B. Author and C. D. Author, "Title of Paper," IEEE Trans. on Communications, vol. 58, no. 6, pp. 1234-1245, Jun. 2020.
Website:
[1] Author(s) or Organization, "Title of Webpage," Website Name. [Online]. Available: URL. [Accessed: Month Day, Year].
Ex. [1] E. Zitron, "How Does AI Survive," Where's Your Ed At. [Online]. Available: https://www.wheresyoured.at/to-serve-altman/. [Accessed: Jul. 28, 2024.]
All persons are expected to present and represent their own original work and to fully and properly credit sources of information used in the preparation of their own original work.
Further Resources
A citation manager is a software tool that helps users organize, manage, and format citations for research and writing. It allows users to collect and store bibliographic information, generate citations and bibliographies in various citation styles, and integrate with word processing software to streamline the process of citing sources and creating reference lists. Popular citation managers include Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley.
Plagiarism is the act of taking another individual's work and using it as your own. Anytime you paraphrase, summarize, or take words, phrases, or sentences from another individual's work, it is good idea to indicate the source of the information in your paper as an internal citation. It is not enough to just list the source in a bibliography at the end of your paper. Failing to properly quote, cite or acknowledge someone else's words or ideas with an internal citation is plagiarism. It is very important to give credit to an individual's work by citing the work. Plagiarism is violating the U.S. Copyright Law. Such a breach of the U.S. Copyright Law can result in a disciplinary action or legal action against an individual committing the offense.
Note:Computer generated citation tools may not be always correct. Be familiar with your citation manual and look for errors.