Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 by
The NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence. Fully revised for the April 2023 test change, this edition scrutinizes the Next Generation NCLEX question types and spells out how to answer each. We're so confident that Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep offers the guidance you need that we guarantee it: After studying with our book, you'll pass the test--or your money back. Proven Strategies. Realistic Practice. 10 critical thinking pathways to break down what NCLEX-RN questions are asking 8 end-of-chapter practice sets to help you put critical thinking principles into action Step-by-step guidance for tackling every question type on the Next Generation NCLEX-RN, including Matrix, Multiple Response, Cloze, Drag-and-Drop, Highlight, Bowtie, and Trend Full-length practice test to gauge your progress Instructions to access Kaplan's full-length NCLEX-RN computerized test--representing all 8 NCLEX client needs categories--FREE! Detailed rationales for all answer choices, correct and incorrect Expert Guidance Capsule content review, organized along the exam's "Client Needs" framework Practice questions and study materials validated by Kaplan's learning engineers and expert psychometricians We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years, and our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
Get the tools and skills you need to prepare for the NCLEX®! Often called the ''the best NCLEX® exam review book ever,'' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 8th Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the most recent test plan. This new edition includes 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. A companion Evolve website includes thousands of questions that allow you to decide how you want to practice! Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only Silvestri includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices and test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! Over 5,200 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice. 75-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give students practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. Presents introductory chapters on preparation guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, the CAT format, and the NCLEX-RN from a new graduate''s experience. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site. Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam. UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! More Priority Nursing Action boxes communicate new and pertinent content. Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give you completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. Mnemonics included where appropriate throughout the text. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment Situations test critical thinking skills and feature Next Generation NCLEX item types to assist in applying the skill of clinical judgment. NEW! UPDATED! Bioterrorism content includes information on nuclear radiation. Several NEW prioritizing questions test prioritizing skills. NEW! Pharmacology classifications code with practice questions helps you to focus on specific medication classes. NEW! Special Populations chapter focuses on nursing care of special and vulnerable populations. NEW! Complex Care chapter includes information on sepsis, shock, sedation, critical care nursing interventions, and more. NEW! Health Problem code with every practice question helps you to focus your study on particular topics. NEW! Anemia section added to the Oncological and Hematological Problems chapter. NEW! Systematic case scenario helps you focus on applying health and physical assessment concepts.
Lippincott Q&a Review for NCLEX-RN by
LIPPINCOTT Q&A REVIEW FOR NCLEX-RN, 13E is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students prepare to take the licensing examination. The book has more than 6,000 questions reviewing the four major content areas of pre-licensure programs: obstetrics, pediatrics, medical-surgical, and mental health nursing. The textbook also includes six comprehensive examinations to provide students a realistic example of the NCLECX-RN test, in which items are randomized by subject area and difficulty, and an additional new examination focused specifically on the challenging content area of pharmacology. The questions align with the 2019 National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination, with heavy emphasis on alignment of content with the NCSBN's Practice Analysis and associated Activity Statements. Other features include the use of all the types of alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect answers, information about the NCLEX-RN, study tips, and a Content Mastery and Test-Taking Self Analysis grid by which students can chart their own progress and modify study as needed.
NCLEX-RN Prep Plus by
The NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. Kaplan's NCLEX-RN Prep Plus uses expert critical thinking strategies and targeted sample questions to help you put your expertise into practice and face the exam with confidence. This edition also identifies 7 NGN question types being developed by the NCSBN and breaks down, step-by-step, how to approach and answer each type. In NCLEX-RN Prep Plus, Kaplan's all-star nursing faculty teach you how to break down what exam questions are asking. We're so confident that NCLEX-RN Prep Plus offers the guidance you need that we guarantee it: After studying with our book and online resources, you'll pass the test--or your money back. Proven Strategies. Realistic Practice. 10 critical thinking pathways to break down what exam questions are asking 8 end-of-chapter practice sets to help you put critical thinking principles into action and apply the medical knowledge you've gained in real-life situations 2 full-length practice tests to gauge your progress--one in the book, one online Detailed rationales for all answer choices, correct and incorrect Techniques for mastering the computer adaptive test format Expert Guidance In-depth content review, organized along the exam's "Client Needs" framework 60+ minutes of video tutorials on the ins and outs of the NCLEX-RN Kaplan's learning engineers and expert psychometricians ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years, and our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams With NCLEX-RN Prep Plus you can study on-the-go. Log in from anywhere to watch video tutorials, review strategies, and take your online practice test.
Comprehensive systematic review for advanced practice nursing
The Body by
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST * LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN E.O. WILSON LITERARY SCIENCE WRITING AWARD "Glorious. . .You will marvel at the brilliance and vast weirdness of your design." --The Washington Post Bill Bryson, bestselling author of A Short History of Nearly Everything, takes us on a head-to-toe tour of the marvel that is the human body. As addictive as it is comprehensive, this is Bryson at his very best, a must-read owner's manual for everybody. Bill Bryson once again proves himself to be an incomparable companion as he guides us through the human body--how it functions, its remarkable ability to heal itself, and (unfortunately) the ways it can fail. Full of extraordinary facts (your body made a million red blood cells since you started reading this) and irresistible Bryson-esque anecdotes, The Body will lead you to a deeper understanding of the miracle that is life in general and you in particular. As Bill Bryson writes, "We pass our existence within this wobble of flesh and yet take it almost entirely for granted." The Body will cure that indifference with generous doses of wondrous, compulsively readable facts and information.
The Nurse's Anatomy, Physiology and Pathophysiology Glossary by
Designed with speed and simplicity in mind, this pocket-sized glossary provides an A-Z reference guide to over 1,900 key biological terms used in nursing. Key Features: 1. Prepare for practice - Clear definitions of commonly used terminology 2. Learn the language - Phonics-based guidance on pronunciation 3. Deepen your knowledge - Breaks down complex terms to aid understanding
Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharamcology
Essentials of Pharmacology for Health Professions by
Now in its 7th Edition, ESSENTIALS OF PHARMACOLOGY FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS is the best-selling resource for those preparing for licensed practical nursing, medical assisting, and other allied health careers. Clear, concise writing focused on "need to know" drug information gives readers the confidence to master pharmacology. Learn calculations quickly through a simplified step-by-step process. Part I chapters center on basic pharmacologic principles. Medication preparation, supplies, and specific information on each route of administration is covered. Administration checklists allow the learner to put the knowledge into practice. . Part II chapters organize drugs by classifications, and includes purpose, side effects, cautions, interactions, and contraindications. Patient education is highlighted for each category. Reference tables with each classification list the most commonly prescribed drugs according to generic and trade names, with dosage and available forms. The complete pharmacology resource for allied health professionals at every experience level, ESSENTIALS OF PHARMACOLOGY FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS, 7th Edition also makes a great refresher and on-the-job reference.
Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for more than 35 years! Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including 35 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for 35 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Updates on drug therapies provide the most current information.
Pharmacology and the Nursing Process by
Let this outstanding pharmacology text help you learn how to administer drugs safely and effectively! Now in its eighth edition, Pharmacology and the Nursing Process continues to deliver the perfect amount of pharmacology, prioritization, and nursing process information to today''s nursing students. Centering on its unique key drug approach, this text focuses only on the drug information you need to safely administer drugs. The text also continues to emphasize the nursing process and prioritization, covering the most essential assessments, nursing diagnoses, interventions, and evaluations you need to practice effectively. New to this edition is even more coverage of QSEN competencies, simpler language, and a wealth of reader-friendly features and innovative learning aids. Along with its integrated NCLEX preparation and insightful learning strategies, you won''t find a more complete pharmacology text on the market! NEW! Additional QSEN coverage incorporates more QSEN information throughout the text. Applicable QSEN competencies added to text case study titles Collaboration and teamwork content added to selected case studies Addition of new Safety: What Went Wrong? case studies Explanation of QSEN initiatives as it relates to safety and quality of patient care is included in the Medication Errors chapter NEW! Improved readability is aided by more friendly, direct-address langua≥ shorter sentences; simplified language (where appropriate); and much more. An extensive Photo Atlas of Drug Administration features more than 100 step-by-step illustrations depicting key steps in drug administration for various routes of drug administration. UNIQUE! QSEN focus highlights those aspects of the book - such as boxes, tips, case studies, and other content - that correlate with the QSEN competencies. Popular key drug approach focuses on the need-to-know content for safe clinical practice and uses a streamlined approach to drug indications, emphasizing only the most common or serious adverse effects. Integrated NCLEX® Examination preparation includes seven NCLEX Examination review questions in every chapter, with at least one alternate-format item per chapter. Thorough application of the nursing process is addressed in each chapter to help readers learn how to prioritize nursing care to focus on the most essential assessments, nursing diagnosis, interventions, and evaluation/outcome criteria. Colorful and consistent learner-friendly format utilizes a variety of tables and practical body systems organization to help readers integrate pharmacology content with what they are learning in medical-surgical and adult health nursing courses. Focus on prioritization includes prioritized nursing diagnoses along with corresponding prioritization of goals and outcomes, helping readers learn to connect nursing diagnoses to goals and outcomes. Large collection of reader-friendly learning aids includes approachable text elements such as: Cartoon-illustrated learning strategies covering study, time management, and test-taking tips related to studying pharmacology. Drug profiles highlighting specific information on commonly-used agents. Case studies that help bring patients to life and promote critical thinking skills. Dosages tables providing instant access to dosages, routes, and indications for individual drugs. Key points summarizing key pharmacology and nursing content in each chapter. Critical thinking and prioritization questions encourage readers to think on a deeper level. More than 250 full-color photos and illustrations show how drugs work in the body and how to administer medications safely and effectively. NEW! Updated learning strategies include strategies for incorporating technology and active learning. NEW! Exclamation point icon identifies ISMP high-alert drugs. NEW! Diamond icons indicate key drugs in the Dosage tables.
Pharmacology for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
The fifth edition of this popular textbook continues to provide a solid foundation of pharmacological knowledge for all those working in anaesthesia and intensive care. The content has been thoroughly revised to include expanded chapters with clearer figures, ensuring readers are kept abreast of the ever-changing landscape of clinical pharmacology. Conveniently divided into four sections covering the basic principles of pharmacology, core drugs in anaesthetic practice, cardiovascular drugs, and other important drugs and complemented by new diagrams, tables and chemical formulae to facilitate learning. All four chapters on core drugs in anaesthetic practice have been updated along with others exploring applied pharmacokinetic models, antimicrobials, and drugs used in diabetes. An ideal aid to study and practice for junior and trainee anaesthetists and intensive care specialists preparing for exams. Also an invaluable resource for theatre practitioners, ICU nurses and physicians working in areas that demand a solid knowledge of pharmacology.
