Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.
2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).
3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).
4. Under "Search Options": Select "Full Text" and/or "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" if applicable.
Art & Architecture Digital Resources
Art and architecture digital images from licensed sources, plus contributions from Ohio museums, libraries, and universities.
Art Full Text [1984 - ] - On Campus
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective [1929-1984] - On Campus
Access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Digital Resource Commons
A statewide platform for saving, discovering and sharing—free of charge—the instructional, research, historic and creative materials produced by the University System of Ohio and Ohio's private colleges.
Saskia Art History Images This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art from these textbooks:
Gardner's Art Through the Ages
Stokstad's History of Art
Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art
These search freely licensed photos, from many sources, and present them in an integrated list.
A search engine for freely licensed photos, and acts as a portal for stock photography.
Google Advanced Image Search
Under "Settings" and "Usage Rights" choose the restrictions appropriate for your project.
A reverse image search engine. It can help find the source of an unknown file, or higher quality examples of that same image.
Yahoo Images Search
Offers image searching capabilities similar to Google's, but across different collections of images.
It is the student/researcher's obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when using, publishing or otherwise distributing materials.
Be sure to investigate the copyright restrictions at each website and to always cite any images you include in your own work.
Even Copyright Free Images must be properly cited and credited.
Free Image Databases
A website that showcases art-related video content for art educators.
Art Images for College Teaching
Art images in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community.
Digital Public Library of America
Digital access to materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Flickr: Creative Commons
Using Flickr under the Creative Commons license, images may be used, edited, copied or distributed provided the owner is credited.
Flickr: The Commons
Flikr, in association with the Library of Congress, had launched The Commons to help increase access to publicly-held photography collections. Participating institutions have contributed photographs with "no known copyright restrictions".
Fusions of text and image covering thousands of topics, from travel, culture and wildlife to food, entertainment and more. Browse them as a magazine, find them on the map or create and share your own.
A non-profit library of millions of free images, video, software, etc.
LIFE Photo Archive Hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site. To acknowledge the artist's accomplishments, morgeFile asks that you credit the photographer when possible.
Ohio Digital Network (ODN)
Digital Collections from Ohio Libraries, Museums, and Archives.
Digital collections from Ohio.
Open Clip Art Library
OCAL claims to be the largest collaborative community that creates, shares and remixes clipart. All clipart is released to the public domain and may be used in any project for free with no restrictions.
A repository of public domain images.
A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips).
Free but see the Usage Policy.