Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Info Biochemistry & Chemistry Websites
Aldrich Chemistry Products
A catalog of organic and inorganic chemicals that includes images, descriptions, and molecular formulas.
Information about each element in the Periodic Table, including Technical Data, Safety Data and its properties, research, applications and other useful facts. Scientific facts such as the atomic structure, ionization energy, abundance on Earth, conductivity and thermal properties are included.
A chemical dictionary that is serchable by term or in an alphabetical listing. The site also includes a periodic table, chemistry tools, and other resources.
A structure searching tool from the National Library of Medicine.
A chemical structure database providing access to structures, properties, and associated information.
General Chemistry: Starting Points for Students
A selective, annotated collection of the best Web links for students in General Chemistry courses.
Glossary of Archaic Chemical Terms
From the LeMoyne College Department of Chemistry, this includes links to the terms used in classic papers selected from the history of chemistry, and to the full text of many papers in that list.
Lists millions of chemical compounds with their chemical information, patents, pricing, etc.
National Library of Medicine (ChemID Plus)
Free access to “database of over 380,000 chemicals, synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases.”
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has data for thousands of organic and small inorganic compounds.
Detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
Periodic Table by WebElements
Chemical elements ordered by atomic number.
Periodic Table Live!
Offers a broad range of information about the elements, their reactions, their properties, their structures, and their histories.
From the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), this consists of three databases (PubChem Compound, PubChem Substance, and PubChem Bio-Assay) linked together.
Safety Data Sheets
Lists general, government, and manufacturer SDS sites.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds.
From the NIH, this is an interface for searching multiple databases on toxicology, hazardous and related areas.
What's On My Food?
From the Pesticide Action Network North America (PAN), this is a database that links pesticide food reside data with the toxicology for each chemical.
1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.
2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).
3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).
Reference and IT Help Desk Main Floor Davis Library
OhioLINK's Derwent Innovations Index - On Campus
Provides access to patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources.
International patent database produced by the European Patent Office. Contains 70 million patent documents, and searchable full text of all EP and PCT applications. Has translation capabilities.
Full text US patent documents from 1790 to the present that is fully indexed and searchable.
Maintained by WIPO (World Intellectual Property Association), this contains all PCT international patent applications from 1978 forward as well as national patent documents.
Also has structure searching for patents.
US Patent RSS Feeds
From Free Patents Online, this provides RSS feeds of recently issued U.S. patents and published applications.
When hydrogen bromide (HBr), pictured, is dissolved in water, it forms the strong acid hydrobromic acid.
Standard form of the periodic table of chemical elements. The colors represent different categories of elements