LibGuides: Datasets & Statistical Sources: Visualizing Data

Need Help? - Ask Us in Davis Library!

chat loading...

Call Us! 740-245-7005

Text Us at 740-299-2275 (740-299-2ASK)

Tutorials

Data visualization is the graphical representation of data using charts, graphs, and other visual tools to make it easier to understand and interpret complex information. It helps us see patterns, relationships, and insights in data quickly and make informed decisions.

Free Online Tools

Tableau Public Tableau Public is an online platform that allows users to create, publish, and share interactive data visualizations and dashboards. It provides a space for individuals and organizations to showcase their data-driven insights and storytelling through compelling visual representations. Users can upload their data, choose from a variety of visualization options, and customize their visualizations using Tableau's intuitive tools. The platform also allows for collaboration and engagement with the Tableau community by allowing users to explore and interact with visualizations created by others. Tableau Public serves as a hub for data enthusiasts, professionals, and researchers to discover and share data visualizations with a wider audience.
Open Heat Map OpenHeatMap.com is a website that provides a simple and intuitive platform for creating and sharing interactive heat maps. With OpenHeatMap, users can input their data and visualize it on a map, where color variations represent the intensity or density of the data points. The tool offers various customization options, allowing users to choose map themes, color schemes, and data ranges to suit their specific needs. OpenHeatMap is commonly used for visualizing data related to population density, crime rates, weather patterns, and other geospatial data. It is a user-friendly solution for quickly generating visually appealing heat maps without the need for advanced technical skills.
Data Wrapper Datawrapper is an online data visualization tool that allows users to create interactive charts, maps, and other visualizations from their datasets. It provides a user-friendly interface that enables individuals and organizations to transform their data into compelling visual representations without the need for coding or advanced design skills. Datawrapper offers a range of customizable chart types, including line charts, bar charts, pie charts, and more, along with various customization options for colors, labels, and annotations. Users can easily upload their data, visualize it, and then embed the resulting visualizations in websites, presentations, or reports. Datawrapper aims to make data visualization accessible and effective for both beginners and experienced data analysts.
Information Is Beautiful Information is Beautiful is a website that presents complex data and information in visually appealing and easily understandable formats. It features a wide range of visualizations, including infographics, charts, and interactive graphics, covering diverse topics such as science, politics, health, and technology. The website aims to enhance data comprehension and promote data-driven decision-making by combining aesthetics and functionality in its visual representations. Information is Beautiful serves as a platform for exploring and communicating data-driven insights in an engaging and accessible manner.
Data Visualization Catalouge The Data Visualization Catalogue is a website that provides a comprehensive collection of different types of data visualizations. It serves as a catalog or reference guide for various visualization techniques, helping users explore and understand the diverse ways data can be represented visually.
Looker Studio with Google Looker Studio is a data visualization and exploration platform that allows users to create interactive dashboards, reports, and visualizations based on their data. It provides a user-friendly interface and a drag-and-drop functionality for designing and customizing visualizations without the need for coding. Looker Studio enables users to connect to various data sources, transform data, and build interactive visualizations to gain insights and make data-driven decisions. The platform empowers organizations to explore and communicate their data effectively, enabling users to uncover valuable insights and share them across the organization.

A Short History

A Short History of Data Visualisation A blog post by Richard Farnworth on the website Towards Data Science. In the post, Farnworth provides a brief history of data visualization, from its early beginnings in cartography to its modern-day use in a variety of fields, including business, government, and education.
An intro to designing accessible data visualizations A blog post by Sarah L. Fossheim about designing accessible data visualizations. The post discusses the importance of accessibility in data visualization, and provides tips for creating accessible graphs and charts.

Basics

Data visualization basics from SciToons