LibGuides: Datasets & Statistical Sources: Spatial Data

Spatial data refers to any data that is associated with a specific location or geographic coordinates. It includes information about the physical features, boundaries, and attributes of objects or phenomena on Earth's surface. Spatial data can be represented in various formats, such as points, lines, polygons, or raster grids.

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are tools and technologies used to capture, store, analyze, and visualize spatial data. GIS allows for the manipulation, integration, and interpretation of spatial data to gain insights, make informed decisions, and solve problems related to geography, planning, environmental management, and many other fields. It combines spatial data with attribute data (non-spatial information) to create a comprehensive understanding of the geographic context.

Resources

Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) The Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) is a data center at Columbia University that collects and distributes socioeconomic and environmental data. It also develops applications for analyzing and visualizing the data, supporting research and decision-making in areas such as urban planning, public health, and environmental sustainability.
A Guide to Mapping and Geographical Analysis in Tableau A blog post by Tableau that provides a guide to using Tableau to create maps. The post covers the basics of mapping in Tableau, such as how to create a map, how to add data to a map, and how to customize a map. The post also includes examples of how to use Tableau to create different types of maps, such as choropleth maps, heat maps, and bubble maps.
ESRI Online GIS Dictionary The website you linked is a GIS dictionary from Esri, a company that develops geographic information system (GIS) software. The dictionary provides definitions for over 1,000 GIS terms, including both technical and non-technical terms.
National Historic Geographic Information System The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) is a free, online research service that provides access to a wide variety of historical and contemporary geographic data about the United States. The data includes population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks. NHGIS is a valuable resource for researchers, policymakers, and the general public. It provides a unique window into the changing geography of the United States and helps us to understand how our society has evolved over time.