Skip to Main Content

Industrial Production

Finding Resources

Use the library catalog and OhioLINK to search for both physical and Ebooks.

Search for Books in RioCat

Tutorial Video: Finding books in RioCat

OhioLINK "Heart of it All" logo

                    

                        What is OhioLINK!

OhioLINK is a consortium of 90 Ohio college and university libraries, plus the State Library of Ohio, that work together to get you the information you need, whenever and wherever you need it.

Use the OhioLINK catalog to search for books that can be requested.

When you find a book, to access the delivery service click on “Request”. Follow the prompts.

  • Select Institution: U of Rio Grande & RGCC.
  • Your Name: First and Last.
  • Your “Barcode” is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: s300123456).
  • If you need a Library PIN: It is the last four-digits of your social security number.

Generally: It takes 3 to 5 business days for books to be ready for you to pick-up at Davis Library's Circulation Desk.

"Ready" Status in "My Record" from Davis Library's Homepage indicates materials are at Davis Library's Circulation Desk and ready to be picked up.  An email saying "Ready" will also be sent.

Students may have books for three weeks and possibly renew the book six times through "My Record". Charges may be levied for overdue or lost books.

Tutorial Video: Requesting a book via OhioLINK

Print Books

Below is an example result for a book that can be found in the library. Note the item has a location call number and availability.

EBooks

Through Davis Library and OhioLink you have access to thousand of Ebooks. Note the the record below denotes that the item is an online resource.

Ebook Collections

Article Databases

Academic journal article databases are online collections of scholarly articles organized by subject, discipline, or publisher. These databases allow researchers to search and access a wide range of academic literature, including peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, and periodical, sometimes books or dissertations.

Journals are scholarly publications that contain articles written by researchers, scholars, and experts in specific fields of study. They are published regularly (e.g., monthly, quarterly) and typically undergo a peer-review process to ensure the quality and validity of the research presented. Journals serve as important channels for disseminating new research findings and advancing knowledge within academic and professional communities.

Periodicals refer to any publication issued periodically, such as magazines, newspapers, and journals. In an academic context, "periodical" often specifically refers to scholarly journals and other publications that appear at regular intervals. These periodicals contribute to the ongoing discourse and development of knowledge within their respective fields.

Tutorial Video: Finding Articles in Academic Search Complete

Subject-Specific Databases:

General Databases:

Newspapers and Magazines:

Reference Sources

Reference sources are types of resource that provide authoritative, factual information on a specific topic. Examples include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, almanacs, and directories. These sources are designed to be consulted for specific information rather than read from cover to cover.

Role in the Research Process:

  1. Initial Stage:

    • Background Information: Reference sources are often used at the beginning of the research process to gain a broad understanding of a topic. They provide definitions, overviews, key facts, and foundational information.
    • Clarifying Concepts: They help clarify terminology and concepts, ensuring that researchers have a clear and accurate understanding of the subject matter.

  2. Formulating Research Questions:

    • Identifying Gaps: By consulting reference sources, researchers can identify what is already known and what remains to be explored, helping to formulate precise research questions.
    • Generating Ideas: They can also inspire new ideas and directions for further research.

  3. Citing Reliable Information:

    • Credibility: Reference sources are typically written and reviewed by experts, providing credible and reliable information that can be cited in academic work.

  4. Quick Facts and Data:

    • Efficiency: They offer quick access to essential facts, statistics, and data, which can be crucial for supporting arguments and providing evidence in research papers and projects.

Finding Reference sources for your topic

Basic first steps when conducting research in an academic library. For a fuller treatment of the research process visit "Research Process" tab in the side navigation bar.

1. Define Your Topic

  • Clear Research Question: Focus your topic to identify relevant keywords.

2. Develop Search Strategies

  • Keywords: Use specific and terms relevant to your topic, include synonyms.

  • Boolean Operators: Combine (AND), exclude (NOT), or broaden (OR) search terms.

  • Phrase Searching: Use quotation marks for exact phrases.

  • Truncation and Wildcards: Use symbols like * or ? for word variations.

3. Access Library Resources

4. Evaluate Sources for relevance and reliability, also:

  • Authority: Check the author’s credentials.

  • Accuracy: Verify information across multiple sources.

  • Bias: Identify potential biases.

  • Currency: Ensure information is up-to-date.

5. Organize Research

  • Citation Management Tools: Use tools like Zotero or EndNote.

  • Annotated Bibliographies: Summarize and evaluate sources.

6. Seek Help

  • Librarians: Ask for assistance with resources and strategies.

  • Workshops and Tutorials: Participate to enhance skills.

The videos below offer tutorials for conducting both basic and advanced searches in Academic Search Complete.

Data and Statistical Sources

Data are raw, unprocessed facts and figures collected from observations, experiments, or surveys.

Statistics involve the analysis, interpretation, and presentation of data to identify patterns and draw conclusions.

In the research process, data provides the essential information needed to explore research questions, while statistics are used to analyze this data, validate findings, and support conclusions. Together, they enable researchers to make informed decisions, test hypotheses, and contribute to knowledge in their field.

Databases

Other Sources