Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference and IT Help Desk Main Floor Davis Library
OhioLINK Full Text Reference Databases
Selected Biology Reference Websites
Life sciences information resources, searchable by organism, subject, or geography produced by publisher Thomson Reuters.
Maintained by the US National Science Foundation (NSF).
Aims to educate and promote awareness of all things biology, offering free and easy access to information in the biological sciences.
Molecular biology numbers.
Catalogue of Life
A global index of species.
Information about the wild animals and plants of the US.
International Plant Names Index
Names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.
National Science Foundation (NSF) - Biological Sciences
Biology research programs, science news, and access to publications.
Patent Searching: New Mexico Tech
Links to patent databases and web tutorials.
US Government science information.
Tree of Life
Organisms and their evolutionary history and taxonomy.
Using the Biological Literature Web Resources: University of Illinois
Annotated guide to the literature organized by major topic areas.
Based on 4th ed. text by Diane Schmidt
Find the online version in RioCat.
A World Wildlife Fund's interactive tool that lists every species on Earth.
From the Natural Resources Conservation Service, this provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Public policy on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections.
Full text US patent documents from 1790 to the present.
Woolly Burdock (Arctium Tomentosum) in Keila, Estonia