Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Resources: Articles from Periodicals and Journals

Selected History Resources and Services in Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande.

Premium OhioLINK History Databases for Articles in Periodicals

Off Campus:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

4. Under "Search Options": Select "Full Text" and/or "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" if applicable.

History Related OhioLINK Databases

Traditional Interlibrary Loan - Use to Order Articles Not Found Full Text Online

Use the form below to order articles from periodicals.  There may be a charge and take one to two weeks to arrive.

Articles From Periodicals Through Traditional Interlibrary Loan

Selected History Related Periodicals in OhioLINK's EJournal Finder - Easy Online Browsing Through Professional Journals

Some Links May Require Off Campus Authentication Regardless of Location:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

For More Titles Like These, Go to OhioLINK's EJournal Finder:

Please Note: For some titles, an "Embargo," is in place which means access to recent full-text is delayed.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)

Search by topic from full text of research journals covering many subject areas.

Browse All OhioLINK Databases by Subject & Type

Need Help With Library Stuff?

chat loading...

Email:

RefDesk@Rio.Edu

 Call Us!  740-245-7344 (Voice Mail - Research Help)

 740-245-7398 (Voice Mail - Library Account Info)

 740-245-7382 (Voice Mail - Library Administration)

Text Us at 740-299-2275 (740-299-2ASK)

 

Newspaper Articles

Traditional Print Periodical Indexes

Located on the Main Floor at the end of the Reference Collection.  Three of the more popular:

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: Covers periodicals published between 1802 - 1906.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature: This indexes general periodicals (many of which Davis Library has on microfilm and bound in paper) starting about 1890.

New York Times Index: This indexes the major daily New York newspaper which is on microfilm from 1851.

Older Periodicals on Microfilm & Microfiche - Main Floor

Microfilm & Microfiche - Main Floor

Sample Bound Periodicals on Ground Floor

 Older bound periodicals are kept on the Ground Floor of Davis Library.  Here are a few sample titles.  These are readily available and make for easy browsing.  For specific articles: Use the databases listed above.