Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete & America (On Campus Only)
America: History and Life
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Popular Rio Periodical Databases
Off Campus Access:
1. Choose the "Off Campus" Link.
2. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.
3. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).
4. Your Library PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).
5. Under "Search Options": Select "Full Text" and/or "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" if applicable.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) offered via the EBSCOhost Interface. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines)
[OhioLINK] Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
[OhioLINK] Index and summaries of articles and books on mathematical research.
MLA International Bibliography
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation; includes broadsheets, letters, speeches, and photos.
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
[OhioLINK] Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
[OhioLINK] Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
[OhioLINK] Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
Covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, etc.
Older Bound Periodicals - Ground Floor
Ground Floor Bound Periodicals
Traditional Print Periodical Indexes
Located on the Main Floor at the end of the Reference Collection. Three of the more popular:
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: Covers periodicals published between 1802 - 1906.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature: This indexes general periodicals (many of which Davis Library has on microfilm and bound in paper) starting about 1890.
New York Times Index: This indexes the major daily New York newspaper which is on microfilm from 1851.
Older Periodicals on Microfilm & Microfiche - Main Floor
Microfilm & Microfiche - Main Floor
Traditional Interlibrary Loan