Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Affordable Learning?
Affordable Learning Ohio is OhioLINK's series of initiatives to lower the cost of college for Ohio higher education students by assisting our member libraries and campuses in identifying strategies for Open and Affordable Learning textbook and course material adoption, and helping locate statewide shareable library materials as well as open educational resources that are no cost or lower cost to students.
OhioLINK's Ohio Open Course Content Library
Open Education Network
Open Access textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. If none of these textbooks are specifically assigned for your course, be sure to check with your professor first to see if you can use one of these as an alternative for your course.
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
OhioLINK eBook Collections
Electronic books available to Rio through OhioLINK.
1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.
2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).
3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).
OhioLINK Video - What is Affordable Learning
Popular Open Access (OA) Book Sites
BC Campus OpenEd
Links to subject-organized open textbooks.
Free eBooks in PDF format.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Collections from libraries, archives, and museums.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Aims to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
A commercial site that offers access to public domain books.
In Settings, the Advanced Search option allows users to retrieve "Full view only" to retrieve books in their entirety.
In the Advanced Search, select Full-View Only.
Library of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Offers selections from libraries all over the world via a crowdfunding platform where they support Open Access by selecting publisher titles at a clear and sustainable price.
Provided by the California State University System.
From OhioLINK, this is a union catalog of digital resources.
A search engine for different OER resources.
OER (Open Educational Resources) Commons
This catalog contains hundreds of college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.
OER Google Search
Google Advanced Search
Scroll down in advanced search and set “usage rights” parameters to be “Free to use, share, or modify”.
Cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.
A directory of academic open access repositories.
OpenStax - CNX
Open educational materials including some textbooks.
OpenStax - Rice
Provides access to dozens of textbooks with an emphasis on large enrollment courses.
Open Textbook Network Library
Peer-reviewed academic textbooks that are free, openly licensed, and complete.
Florida's digital repository, it provides access to hundreds of open resources for higher education, organized by subject area.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
International directory of open access institutional and national repositories.
A wide selection of open access books across various disciplines.
University of California Press Ebooks
Can be viewed online, but no download option for offline or device use.
University of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions
Free viewing online but does not support downloads.
XanEdu (Formerly AcademicPub)
A fee-based build-your-own-textbook service that offers three different options for purchasing the book: digital download, paperback, or hardcover.