Skip to main content

Radiologic Technology: Reference Websites

Selected Radiologic Technology Resources and Services in Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande and Rio Grande Community College.

Internet Reference Resources for Radiologic Technology

Aunt Minnie: Radiology, News, Education, Service

Medpix

RadiologyInfo.org

RadiologyInfo™ is a public information website developed and funded by the American College of Radiology (ACR) and the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA). Includes videos & image samples.

FDA Center for Devices & Radiological Health

This is the federal office that regulates the research and marketing of new radiological health equipment.

OSHA Hospital eTool: Radiology Module

An interactive website that educates users about potential safety and health issues in radiology areas.

Introduction to Radiology: An Online Interactive Tutorial

From the University of Virginia, PowerPoint-style slideshows covering the basics of imaging for different parts of the body, as well general overviews of topics such as informed consent, patient confidentiality and medical billing.

The Radiology Assistant

The educational web site of the Radiological Society of the Netherlands.

CTisUS

CT images that viewers can use to test their diagnostic skills.

Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics

Diseases and Conditions

Health and Medical Statistics

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) - Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and Prevention Data and Statistics.

County Health Rankings - A joint effort of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, this site ranks counties on various health factors within their states.

Health Data Tools and Statistics - A thorough collection of health statistics from the Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report - From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

National Center for Health Statistics - This division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention gathers statistics on all manner of health topics, from aging and birth rates to diseases and physical activity.

Statistical Abstract: Health & Nutrition - Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau that cover "health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption."

WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) - Statistics from the CDC.

World Health Organization (WHO) Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data - Provides data and analyses on global health priorities.

Radiology Nurse in 1918

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

Eskeletons - From the University of Texas Anthropology Department, details photographs can be studied from several viewpoints.

History of Medicine – From the US National Library of Medicine, this provides access to digitized images, including portraits, photographs and posters.

Human Body Maps - An interactive anatomy tool, but with the ability to rotate images in 3D.

Images for Human Anatomy - Sponsored by Google.

InnerBody - An interactive anatomy system that allows you to study particular body systems.

Medical Animation Library – From Penn Medicine, this provides links to many medical animations arranged by body system and medical specialty.

Wellcome Library - Images related to the history of medicine available to download free under a Creative Commons license.

Zygote Body - Originally called Google Body, this is an anatomy tool that allows for manipulation of a virtual human body. A free sign-up is required.

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/3251/zygote.jpg

 

 

Open Educational Resources (OER) for Rad Tech

Ultrasound representation of Urinary bladder (black butterfly-like shape) and hyperplastic prostate

Ultrasound representation of Urinary Bladder (Black Butterfly-Like Shape) and Hyperplastic Prostate" by Ethan J. Tal

See Davis Library's Text Book Options and Open Access LibGuide for More on OER

Anatomy & Graphics

  • Zygote Body, originally called Google Body, is an anatomy tool that allows you to manipulate a virtual human body. A free sign-up is required.
  • Human Body Maps is an interactive anatomy tool, but with the ability to rotate images in 3D.
     
  • InnerBody is also an interactive anatomy system that allows you to study particular body systems
     
  • The Medical Animation Library from the Penn Medicine website provides links to many medical animations arranged by body system and medical specialty.
     
  • The Wellcome Library has over 100,000 images related to the history of medicine available to download free under a Creative Commons license.
     
  • Eskeletons from the University of Texas Anthropology Department. A great way to study the human skeleton -- and the skeletons of other primates. Details photographs can be studied from several viewpoints.
     
  • The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Images from the History of Medicine collection provides access to over 70,000 digitized images, including portraits, photographs and posters.

Other Medical Related Online Reference Resources