LibGuides: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Additional Resources

Quick Info Biochemistry & Chemistry Websites

Aldrich Chemistry Products A catalog of organic and inorganic chemicals that includes images, descriptions, and molecular formulas.
American Elements Information about each element in the Periodic Table, including Technical Data, Safety Data and its properties, research, applications and other useful facts. Scientific facts such as the atomic structure, ionization energy, abundance on Earth, conductivity and thermal properties are included.
ChemiCool A chemical dictionary that is serchable by term or in an alphabetical listing. The site also includes a periodic table, chemistry tools, and other resources.
ChemSpider A chemical structure database providing access to structures, properties, and associated information.
General Chemistry: Starting Points for Students A selective, annotated collection of the best Web links for students in General Chemistry courses.
Glossary of Archaic Chemical Terms From the LeMoyne College Department of Chemistry, this includes links to the terms used in classic papers selected from the history of chemistry, and to the full text of many papers in that list.
MolPort Lists millions of chemical compounds with their chemical information, patents, pricing, etc.
NIST Chemistry WebBook The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has data for thousands of organic and small inorganic compounds.
Organic Syntheses Detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
Periodic Table by WebElements Chemical elements ordered by atomic number.
PubChem From the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), this consists of three databases (PubChem Compound, PubChem Substance, and PubChem Bio-Assay) linked together.
Safety Data Sheets Lists general, government, and manufacturer SDS sites.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds.
What's On My Food? From the Pesticide Action Network North America (PAN), this is a database that links pesticide food reside data with the toxicology for each chemical.

Patent Databases

OhioLINK's Derwent Innovations Index - On Campus Provides access to patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources.
Espacenet International patent database produced by the European Patent Office. Contains 70 million patent documents, and searchable full text of all EP and PCT applications. Has translation capabilities.
Google Patents Full text US patent documents from 1790 to the present that is fully indexed and searchable.
PatentScope Maintained by WIPO (World Intellectual Property Association), this contains all PCT international patent applications from 1978 forward as well as national patent documents.
SureChEMBL Also has structure searching for patents.
US Patent RSS Feeds From Free Patents Online, this provides RSS feeds of recently issued U.S. patents and published applications.