LibGuides: Citation Resources: MLA (Modern Language Association)

Why Cite?

Accurately documenting sources used for research is an important part of the writing and research process. Documentation is important because:

It is used to give credit for information originally written elsewhere.
Documentation enables others to find the same information again.
Failure to give credit for drawing on the work of others constitutes plagiarism.

MLA - Purdue Owl The MLA Formatting and Style Guide page on Purdue OWL is a comprehensive resource for learning how to format papers and cite sources in MLA style. The guide covers all aspects of MLA style, from the basic formatting of a paper to the specific citation formats for different types of sources. The guide also includes examples and tutorials to help users learn how to apply MLA style correctly.
MLA In-Text Citations - The Basics
MLA Style Center The MLA Style Center website is the official website of the Modern Language Association (MLA). It provides resources on MLA style, which is a set of guidelines for citing sources in research papers and other academic writing. The website includes a handbook, tutorials, and other resources to help writers learn how to use MLA style correctly.
MLA Libguide from Triton College This site is a LibGuide from the Triton College Library that provides information on how to cite sources in MLA style, the 9th edition of the Modern Language Association's style guide. The guide covers a variety of source types, including books, articles, websites, and electronic media. It also includes instructions on how to cite sources in the body of your paper and in the Works Cited list.