Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OhioLINK Search Tools & eBook Collections
Most eBooks offered by the Davis Library are made available to our users via OhioLINK. No login is required to access these electronic resources on campus. However, if you are working from home or someplace other than the Rio Grande Main Campus or one of our institution's Regional Centers, then you will need to complete a special login in process. See our Off Campus Access page for more details.
OhioLINK Search Tools
OhioLINK Library Catalog
The OhioLINK library catalog combines the holdings of 118 member libraries, including the State Library of Ohio, into a shared catalog totaling nearly 46 million items. The shared catalog lists books, e-books and e-journals available across the consortium and other materials available on publishers’ websites.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Searchable "one-stop shop" menu for thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Login/authentication prompts are automated when accessing this source away from the Main Campus or one of Rio Grande's Regional Centers. Consequently, no special link for "Off Campus" use is offered or required for the OhioLINK EBC.
OhioLINK EBC Subcollections
The individual eBook collections listed below, which are included the Scholarly & Reference E-Book Collection and the OhioLINK EBC, also make their own platforms available for users to search and read works online via OhioLINK.
The American & English Literature Collection, which is also included in the OhioLINK EBC, also makes subcollections available so that searches may be limited to specific content areas.
- Poetry Subcollection
Offers access to works originally published in print from the following literary figures, schools, or movements:
- 20th Century African-American Poetry (also includes biographical sketches of poets)
- 20th Century American Poetry
- 20th Century English Poetry
- African-American Poetry 1760-1900
- American Poetry 1600-1900
- English Poetry 600-1900
- William Butler Yeats Collection (Irish poet considered to be one of the greatest literary figures of the 20th Century)
(Use the "Browse" search option to locate and view works by Title or Author.)
- Drama Subcollection
Offers access to works originally published in print from the following literary dramatic movement:
- American Drama
- English Prose Drama
- English Verse Drama
(Use the "Browse" search option to locate and view works by Title or Playwright.)
- Shakespeare Subcollection
Offers access to the complete works and several adaptations of William Shakespeare, famous English poet, playwright, and actor of the Elizabethan Age,1558-1603. (Use the "Browse" search option to locate and view works by Author/Title.)
- The Bible in English Subcollection
Offers access to 21 historic editions of the Bible originally written and published in the English Language. (Use the "Browse" search option to locate and view works by Facet, Title or Author.)
Additional eBook Collections available via OhioLINK
O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform
Also known as Safari Books Online, this resouce provides electronic books and videos relevant to computer science, information technology, business, and related fields.
Open Access eBook Resources
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) Open Access Titles
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) offers about 60 titles from its Humanities eBook (HEB) Collection free online..
Google search engine that may be used to find and access the digitized content of a wide range of books and other published works. While access to the full-text of public domain (published before the early 1920s) works is available through the site, only small portions of copyrighted materials may be viewed. However, links are provided to help users either purchase the item(s) or locate them in libraries.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of academic and research institutions whose aim is preserve and provide free access to digitized book and journal content from its member library collections. Digital collection includes both copyrighted and public domain materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft, as well as through initiatives.
An online non-profit library offering free access to millions of books, movies, software, music, websites, and more in digital form.
Open Textbook Library
Supported by the Open Textbook Network, a group that works together to make higher education more open and affordable, this comprehensive resource offers access to openly licensed academic textbooks. All textbooks are free, and the majority are peer- reviewed.
Online library offering free access to over 60,000 eBooks, most in the public domain (published before the early 1920s). Users have the option to read titles online or download them to certain e-reader devices.
What is an eBook?
Also known as an electronic book or e-book, it is a book publication made available in digital form that is read either on a computer, mobile device, or e-reader designed specifically for eBook use. While eBooks are often an electronic version of a printed book, they might also be published only in digital form. Because they are intended to be read online or downloaded to an electronic device, the printing of eBooks is discouraged and in many instances could be a violation of copyright law and/or publisher or distributor licensing agreements .
Related Information & LibGuides
Video - Finding Print & eBooks