LibGuides: Government and Politics: Reference Materials

Background and reference sources are used for:

Contextual Understanding: Providing foundational information about a topic, helping users grasp the basics before delving into more advanced research.
Fact-Checking: Ensuring accuracy by offering reliable, authoritative information for verification and validation of facts and figures.
Idea Generation: Offering inspiration for research questions, topics, or keywords, stimulating critical thinking and exploration.
Citation and Attribution: Offering credible sources to cite in academic work, enhancing the credibility of research.
Cross-Referencing: Facilitating navigation to related topics and sources, aiding in comprehensive research.

Background and reference sources play a vital role in providing context, accuracy, inspiration, credibility, and organization for research and academic endeavors.

Online Reference Sources

Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. [OhioLINK]
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Source is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. The Points of View Debate Blog is a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news. [OhioLINK]
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for articles from magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, biographies, book reviews, public opinion polls, EBSCO's Current Issues database, and government information. [OhioLINK]
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window Hundreds of thousands of primary source documents are fully integrated with encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include an online book archive, citation builder, and personal research accounts. [OhioLINK]
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window An easy-to-read encyclopedia for children that includes over 25,000 articles. [OhioLINK]
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window Biography Reference Bank provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. BRB offers substantive narrative profiles, each about 2,000 words long, from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images. Daily updates provide up-to-the-minute coverage of newsmakers. Full-text articles, abstracts, and images gleaned from thousands of magazines and journals cover new names and expand on existing profiles. Book review excerpts and full text reviews help users find and select print biographies. [OhioLINK]

CIA World FactBook
Economic, geographical, governmental and statistical information on foreign countries with maps of countries and regional areas produced by the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Available in print in Davis Library’s Reference Collection – Call Number R 910.5 W927.
Country Studies
Series of publications that present descriptions and analyses of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world, which is prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program that is sponsored by the Department of the Army. Some older studies available in print in Davis Library’s Gov Docs Collection under the Defense Department section

Select Print Reference Books - Main Floor Davis Library

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: R 150.03 E56
Use the Index in Volume 4.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Call Number: R 174.203 E56
Use the Index in Volume 5.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: R 203 E56
Use the Index in Volume 16.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: R 301.03 E56
Use the Index in Volume 4.
International Encyclopedia of Communications
Call Number: R 302.2 I61
Use the index in Volume 4.
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family
Call Number: R 306.803 E56
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Call Number: R 331.702 E563
Guide to American Law
Call Number: R 348.736 G946
Use the Case; Subject; and/or Name Index in Volume 12. If Appropriate: Use the Annual Yearbooks after the main set.