Skip to main content

Nursing & Allied Health Resources: Reference Materials

Selected Nursing & Allied Health Resources and Services in Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande.

Print Reference Books on Main Floor

Sample Print Reference Books - Main Floor, Davis Library

Anatomy & Graphics

  • Zygote Body, originally called Google Body, is an anatomy tool that allows you to manipulate a virtual human body. You can highlight various body systems and rotate the images into different views. Structures are named and you can pin them to help in studying. This tool works best with the Chrome browser and may not work with some computers' video cards.  A free sign-up is required.
  • Human Body Maps is an interactive anatomy tool, but with the ability to rotate images in 3D. Clicking structures retrieves relevant text.
     
  • InnerBody is also an interactive anatomy system that allows you to study particular body systems
     
  • The Medical Animation Library from the Penn Medicine website provides links to many medical animations arranged by body system and medical specialty.
     
  • The Wellcome Library has over 100,000 images related to the history of medicine available to download free under a Creative Commons license.
     
  • Eskeletons from the University of Texas Anthropology Department. A great way to study the human skeleton -- and the skeletons of other primates. Details photographs can be studied from several viewpoints.
     
  • The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Images from the History of Medicine collection provides access to over 70,000 digitized images, including portraits, photographs and posters.

Diseases and Conditions

Books in Reference Collection

Find More Like These by Using RioCat.

Online Full Text Reference Books

Off Campus:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

Find More Like These by Using RioCat.

Other Medical Related Online Reference Resources

Health and Medical Statistics

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) - Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and Prevention Data and Statistics.

County Health Rankings - A joint effort of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, this site ranks counties on various health factors within their states.

Health Data Tools and Statistics - A thorough collection of health statistics from the Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report - From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

National Center for Health Statistics - This division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention gathers statistics on all manner of health topics, from aging and birth rates to diseases and physical activity.

Statistical Abstract: Health & Nutrition - Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau that cover "health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption."

WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) - Statistics from the CDC.

World Health Organization (WHO) Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data - Provides data and analyses on global health priorities.