Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing & Allied Health Resources: Articles in Periodicals and Journals

Selected Nursing & Allied Health Resources and Services in Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande.

Recommended Databases for Articles in Periodicals and Journals in Nursing and Allied Health Research

OhioLINK Off Campus Access:

1.  Choose the "Off Campus" Link.

2. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

3. Enter Your First and Last Name.

4. Your Student ID Number is an "s" followed by your Student ID (Example: s300123456).

5. If you need a Library PIN: It is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

6. Under "Search Options": Select "Full Text" and/or "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" if applicable.

Other OhioLINK Health and Medical Databases

Nursing & Allied Health Related Periodicals in OhioLINK's EJournal Finder - Easy Online Browsing Through Professional Journals

Some Links May Require Off Campus Authentication Regardless of Location:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Enter Your First and Last Name.

3. Your Student ID Number is an "s" followed by your Student ID (Example: s300123456).

4. If you need a Library PIN: It is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

For More Titles Like These, Go to OhioLINK's EJournal Finder:

Please Note: For some titles, an "Embargo," is in place which means access to recent full-text is delayed.

Need Help With Library Stuff?

 

Email: refdesk@rio.edu

 Call Us!  740-245-7005

Text Us at 740-299-2275 (740-299-2ASK)

Come In and See Us!  Reference and IT Help Desks - Davis Library Main Floor:

Davis Library's Reference and  IT Help Desks.

Find Specific Articles Fast! - CINAHL Tutorials

MEDLINE (PubMed) Resources Guide

Journal of Appalachian Health

Journal of Appalachian Health cover.

The objective of the Journal of Appalachian Health (JAH) is to improve the health status of the population of Appalachia through the rapid dissemination of knowledge of their health problems and evidence-based solutions to them.

Browse All OhioLINK Databases by Subject & Type

Traditional Interlibrary Loan - Use to Order Articles Not Found Full Text Online

Use the form below to order articles from periodicals.  There may be a charge and take one to two weeks to arrive.

Articles From Periodicals Through Traditional Interlibrary Loan

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)

OhioLINK's EJC logo.

Search by topic from full text of research journals covering many subject areas.

Evidence Based Nursing - Duke University Medical Center Library

Evidence based nursing is a part of the larger scope of evidence based practice.  One of the most common defintions of evidence based practice comes from Dr. David Sackett. He describes EBP as:

"...the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of the individual patient. It means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research." 

Sackett, D. Evidence-based Medicine - What it is and what it isn't. BMJ 1996; 312:71-72.

The following diagram can help illustrate the components that go into evidence based practice:

 

Evidence Based Nursing graphic.

Introduction to Evidence Based Practice

MedlinePlus Encyclopedia