Skip to main content

Music Resources: Reference Materials

Music resources available through Davis Library at the University of Rio Grande & Rio Grance Community College.

Print Reference Books on Main Floor

Online Reference Books in RioCat

Beethoven's Walk in Nature, by Julius Schmid

Sample Program Notes

Program Notes are designed to act as guide to an audience listening to live music. They will inform about the sequence of music played and may give some information about the music.

Sheet Music and Scores

These sites contain free scores from public domain (copyright has expired, usually pre-1923) music. The quality of the scores may vary.

Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP) - Search engine of music in the public domain.

Mutopia Project - Public domain scores of classical music, with some contemporary works made freely available.

Choral Wiki: The Choral Public Domain Library - Scores and associated literature for public domain choral music.
 
ChoralNet - Professional networking site for the global online choral community.

Music Business Internet Resources

Print Reference Books on Main Floor

OhioLINK Music Center...Listen to Music

Listen Here...   OhioLINK Music Center

A subset of the Naxos Music Library, this is an online streaming music database of international works from Classical to Spoken Word. The 78,000+ tracks, 21,000+ works can be searched or browsed by track, title, performer, album, composer and date of composition. Note: Flash player (Internet Explorer browser) is required and this may not work on some mobile devices.

Off Campus Access:

1. Select Institution: University of Rio Grande & Rio Grande Community College.

2. Your Barcode or Username is simply an “S” followed by your Student ID Number (Example: S300123456).

3. Your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number (Example: 1234).

Listening to Music

Alexander Street Press - Music Online - American Song - A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.

Alexander Street Press - Music Online - Popular Music Library - Contains a wide range of popular music from around the world.

Alexander Street Press - Music Online - Contemporary World Music - Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online - Browse Cultural Groups or try an advanced search.

Internet Archive - Massive archive of free media including Creative Commons and public domain music.

Free Music Archive - Collection of music of a wide variety of genres cleared for a variety of uses.

cMixter - Music and samples made available under a resharable Creative Commons license.

Other Music Related Reference Databases

Music History 102: A guide to Western Composers and their Music from the Middle Ages to the Present - A nicely organized chronological survey of music with images, audio files, and links to composer profiles. The author of this site is Robert Sherane, a librarian at the Juilliard School of Music; the site is part of the Internet Public Library.

Music Web International - Classical Music CD and concert reviews.

Musicalics: The Classical Composer Database - Offers basic biographical information about composers, both well known and obscure, and links to information about them on the Web. Includes composers’ chronologies, news, and calendars. The list is maintained by Jos Smeets, a classical composer.

The Classical Music Navigator - Provides information on over 400 composers with a list of works arranged by musical genre, a geographical roster, an index of forms and styles, and a glossary of musical terms. Maintained by Charles H. Smith of Western Kentucky University.

National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress – From the Library of Congress, this makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.

Gerard van Honthorst - Musical Group on a Balcony 1622