LibGuides: Datasets & Statistical Sources: Datasets

Dataset refers to a collection of numerical or quantitative values or measurements that have been systematically gathered for research or analysis purposes. These datasets typically contain structured data, organized in a tabular format with rows and columns. Each row represents an individual observation or data point, while each column represents a specific variable or attribute associated with the observations. Quantitative datasets are commonly used in statistical analysis, data modeling, and other quantitative research methods to derive meaningful insights, patterns, and relationships from numerical data.

DataCite DataCite is an international non-profit organization that provides persistent identifiers (PIDs) for research data. PIDs are unique and persistent handles that are used to cite and reference research data. DataCite PIDs are based on the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) standard and are registered in a central registry. DataCite was founded in 2009 by a group of research data repositories from around the world. The organization has grown rapidly and now has over 400 member organizations in over 40 countries. DataCite PIDs are used by researchers, publishers, and funders to cite and reference research data. They are also used by data repositories to manage and track their data.

Microdata

IPUMS IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series) is a project that provides access to harmonized census and survey data from around the world. It offers a unified platform where researchers can access and analyze population data, promoting comparability across time and geographic regions. IPUMS collects, processes, and harmonizes data from various sources, making it easier for researchers to analyze social, economic, and demographic trends. The project aims to enhance data usability, promote research transparency, and facilitate cross-national and longitudinal analysis.
openICPSR OpenICPSR is a web platform that provides open access to social science research data. It allows researchers to share and access datasets for the purpose of replication, secondary analysis, and collaboration. The platform promotes transparency and reproducibility in social science research by facilitating the discovery and dissemination of research data.

Govt Sources

Data.gov Data.gov is a website of the United States government that provides access to open data sets published by federal agencies. The website was launched in 2013 as part of the Open Government Initiative, which is a government-wide effort to make government data more accessible and usable by the public.
data.census.gov census.gov is a data hub for the U.S. Census Bureau. It provides access to a wide variety of data about the United States, including population, housing, business, and agriculture. The data is available in a variety of formats, including tables, maps, and charts.

Replication Data

Harvard Dataverse Harvard Dataverse is an open-access online repository for sharing, preserving, citing, exploring, and analyzing research data. It is a service of Harvard Library and is open to all researchers. Harvard Dataverse offers a wide variety of datasets, easy access to data, comprehensive metadata, and support for data sharing. It is a valuable resource for researchers and is used by researchers from all over the world.
Dryad Dryad is a platform for publishing and making available datasets. The site has a search bar that you can use to find datasets by keyword or by the name of the researcher who published them. You can also browse datasets by subject area or by date of publication.

Survey Data

General Social Survey The General Social Survey (GSS) is a nationally representative survey of American adults conducted by NORC at the University of Chicago. The GSS has been conducted every two years since 1972 and has collected data on a wide range of topics, including social and political attitudes, economic behavior, health and well-being, family and relationships, religion and spirituality, crime and punishment, work and leisure, race and ethnicity, and gender and sexuality. The GSS is a valuable resource for researchers, policymakers, and the general public, as it provides a unique window into the lives of Americans and helps us to understand how our society is changing over time.

For Fun

Kaggle Kaggle is a website that hosts data science and machine learning competitions, provides a platform for data scientists to share and discuss their work, and offers educational resources on data science and machine learning. Kaggle has over 2 million registered users and hosts over 100 competitions per year. These competitions range from beginner-friendly to expert-level and offer prizes of up to $1 million. Kaggle also has a thriving community of data scientists who share and discuss their work on the Kaggle forum.

Datasets & Statistical Sources

Need Help? - Ask Us in Davis Library!

Tutorials

Microdata

Govt Sources

Replication Data

Survey Data

For Fun